Letter #6

Dear M,

It’s about the fries and the steak. Your last fries and last steak. Last weekend Butter wanted to stop at Freddy’s for fries. Every time I pass Freddy’s I can hear you saying “Pull over. I need fries!” It makes me smile but also makes me sad, because you knew those would be your last fries. Tonight on my way home from work I passed Longhorn. The steak was 2 Saturdays before you died. You knew it would be your last. There was your sweetness when you held the door for an older woman having trouble getting around. You were happy to be the helper instead of the one in need.

 

Love,

S

Leave a Reply

